412 Rivervale Road River Vale, NJ 07675 201-391-2323

Library News

Tuesday Movie Matinee21-Aug-2018

Thank You For Your Service Tuesday, August 21 - 1:00 pm A group of U.S. soldiers returning from..

Meet & Play22-Aug-2018

An Early Childhood Playgroup For anyone Ages 0 - 4 with parent/caregiver For River Vale re..

Banner

Friends Book Group 2018-2019

The Friends of the River Vale Library Book Group meets every second Wednesday of the month at 7:30 pm.  Scheduling changes may occur due to holidays. Pick up next month's book at the Circulation Desk after each meeting. Newcomers are always welcome to join us!

September 12 - A Gentleman in Moscow: A Novel
 by Amor Towles

Be transported to The Metropol, the famed Moscow hotel where movie stars and Russian royalty hobnob, where Bolsheviks plot revolutions and intellectuals discuss the merits of contemporary Russian writers, where spies spy, thieves thieve and the danger of twentieth century Russia lurks outside its marbled walls.
Discussion Leader: Barbara Vant

October 10 - White Chrysanthemum
by Mary Lynn Bracht

For fans of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko and Lilac Girls, the heartbreaking history of Korea is brought to life in this deeply moving and redemptive debut that follows two sisters separated by World War II.
Discussion Leader: Bette Warreich

November 14 - Before We Were Yours: A Novel
by Lisa Wingate
Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shanty boat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force.
Discussion Leader: Diane Gladstone

December 12 - The Bridal Chair: A Novel
by Gloria Goldreich

Beautiful Ida Chagall, the only daughter of Marc Chagall, is blossoming in the Paris art world beyond her father's controlling gaze. But her newfound independence is short-lived. In Nazi-occupied Paris, Chagall's status as a Jewish artist has made them all targets, yet his devotion to his art blinds him to their danger.
Discussion Leader: Joanne Levine

January 9 - The Little Paris Bookshop: A Novel
by Nina George

Monsieur Perdu calls himself a literary apothecary. From his floating bookstore in a barge on the Seine, he prescribes novels for the hardships of life. Using his intuitive feel for the exact book a reader needs, Perdu mends broken hearts and souls.
Discussion Leader: Martha Civilletti

February 13 - Bittersweet: A Novel
 by Colleen McCollough

Because they are two sets of twins, the four Latimer sisters are as close as can be. Yet each of these vivacious young women has her own dream for herself: Edda wants to be a doctor, Grace wants to marry, Tufts wants never to marry, and Kitty wishes to be known for something other than her beauty.
Discussion Leader: Jeanne Martine

March 13 -The Rebellious Life of Mrs. Rosa Parks
 by Jeane Theoharis

The national narrative on Parks is that of a reluctant champion of civil rights whose single action was refusing to move to the back of the bus in Montgomery, Alabama, in 1955.
Discussion Leaders: TBD

April 10 - The Last Painting of Sara de Vos: A Novel
by Dominic Smith

Smith bridges the historical and the contemporary by tracking a collision course between a rare landscape by a female Dutch painter of the golden age, an inheritor of the work in 1950s Manhattan, and a celebrated art historian who painted a forgery of it in her youth.
Discussion Leader: TBD

May 8 - Behold the Dreamers: A Novel
by Imbolo Mbue

Jende Jonga, a Cameroonian immigrant living in Harlem, has come to the United States to provide a better life for himself, his wife, Neni, and their six-year-old son. In the fall of 2007, Jende can hardly believe his luck when he lands a job as a chauffeur for Clark Edwards, a senior executive at Lehman Brothers.
Discussion Leader: Cathleen Barker

June 12 - An American Marriage: A Novel
by Tayri Jones

Newlyweds Celestial and Roy are the embodiment of both the American Dream and the New South. He is a young executive, and she is an artist on the brink of an exciting career. But as they settle into the routine of their life together, they are ripped apart by circumstances neither could have imagined.
Discussion Leader: Linda Glass

July 10 - Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir
by J.D. Vance

Hillbilly Elegy is a passionate and personal analysis of a culture in crisis—that of white working-class Americans. The decline of this group, a demographic of our country that has been slowly disintegrating over forty years, has been reported on with growing frequency and alarm, but has never before been written about as searingly from the inside.
Discussion Leader: Roseanne Rosenberg

Web Developers Studio | ©